Limited area of ​​validity
From January 1st 2019 the Avannaata Municipal Plan 2018-2030 became applicable and has since then been in effect
This means that the Qaasuitsup Municipal Plan 2014-2026 has since January 1st 2019 only been applicable to Kommune Qeqertalik.

O: Unbuilt areas

Unbuilt areas have no or almost no buildings or technical plants. Hunting and emergency huts are allowed as long as their number is compatible with the overall zoning of the areas. 

As an exception, recreational huts can be established in O areas as long as their number is compatible with the overall zoning of the areas. In O areas, recreational huts are to be at least 1,000 metres apart. Recreational huts are also to keep a minimum distance of 1,000 metres of K, L and N areas and of town and settlement areas.

The following guidelines apply to the different types of huts:

  Access Size Height Building Area
Recreational hut Private Max. 20 m2

1 storey Max. 5.5 m

÷ planning permission + area allotment
Emergency/hunting hut Public access
No provisions

1 storey Max. 5.5 m

÷ planning permission + area allotment


O areas are classified into:

  • O1: Unbuilt natural areas
  • O2: Areas for extensive grazing
  • O3: Unspoiled natural areas.

O1: Unbuilt natural areas

Areas without planning are unspoiled or almost unspoiled land without buildings and technical plants. As a main rule, there is a five-kilometre buffer zone around all measures in the open country.

O2: Areas for extensive grazing

Areas zoned for extensive grazing by livestock, such as sheep, reindeer, horses, cattle or other domestic animals, where land use intensity is compatible with the overall zoning of the areas.

Qaasuitsup Municipality has no extensive grazing areas (O2).

O3: Unspoiled natural areas

Unspoiled natural areas consist of unspoiled natural areas located at least five kilometres from a measure. A measure is defined as:

  • urban areas and settlements.
  • areas zoned for recreational huts and holiday cottages.
  • special recreational areas.
  • areas zoned for sheep farming, agriculture, aquaculture, forestry, dog islands etc.
  • areas zoned for technical supply plants and other infrastructure.

Paths and small corridors are not defined as measures.


Avannaata Kommunia · Postboks 1023 · 3952 Ilulissat · Grønland · · E-mail: · Tlf.: +299 70 18 00
Kommune Qeqertalik · Postboks 220 · 3950 Aasiaat · Grønland · · E-mail: · Tlf.: +299 70 19 00
Last edited 29-3-2017