Limited area of ​​validity
From January 1st 2019 the Avannaata Municipal Plan 2018-2030 became applicable and has since then been in effect
This means that the Qaasuitsup Municipal Plan 2014-2026 has since January 1st 2019 only been applicable to Kommune Qeqertalik.

The open country

On 1 January, the planning authority and land authority regarding the open country were transferred from the Government of Greenland to Qaasuitsup Municipality. See The Govenment Interest in the open country.

Through this town plan, Qaasuitsup Municipality incorporates the guidelines and provisions previously laid down in the national planning directive for the open country. These mainly relate to the division of the open country into subareas and the overall provisions for these subareas.

The open country has been subdivided into the following areas:

  • K – Huts, holiday cottages etc.
  • L – Special recreational areas
  • M – Keeping of animals and agriculture (area for sheep farming, agriculture, aquaculture, forestry, dog islands etc.)
  • N – Technical supply plants and other infrastructure
  • O – Unbuilt areas.

While many of the subareas and associated provisions have been transferred directly from the national planning directive, a number of areas have been modified and new areas have been included in the town plan, including new K areas. The intention has been to foster new tourism development opportunities in the open country. Other strategic initiatives relate to the development of renewable energy projects and various experimental farming schemes. 

General Provisions

Avannaata Kommunia · Postboks 1023 · 3952 Ilulissat · Grønland · · E-mail: · Tlf.: +299 70 18 00
Kommune Qeqertalik · Postboks 220 · 3950 Aasiaat · Grønland · · E-mail: · Tlf.: +299 70 19 00
Last edited 12-6-2017